Free Subscription

Get the news that matters from one of the leading news sites in Kenya.

Far from over: OKA Flag Bearer dilemma continues

Post by : Ann Njambuya

When forming a coalition in the Kenyan political scene, most parties join a more popular party. With this kind of arrangement the smaller parties fight for other seats but leave the flag bearer position alone. however this is not the case with One Kenya Alliance, this because all the parties that form the alliance are almost equal in terms of  popularity.

One Kenya Alliance (OKA) has been fronted by some Kenyans as the third option for Kenyans as we head into the 2022 presidential elections. However the alliance has been slow on Naming a flag bearer with all party leaders interested in the position.

Among the members of the alliance is Stephen Kalonzo Musyoka, Party Leader Wiper Democratic Movement, Musalia Mudavadi Amani National Congress(ANC) Party Leader, Moses Wetangula FORD-Kenya Party Leader and Gideon Moi KANU chairman.

Within OKA it seems as if the buck for the coalition’s flag bearer will be left to Kalonzo of wiper and Mudavadi of ANC since they are most experience among the others and they are the only ones in the coalition who have been on the ballot at least once.

Technical Committee 

In order to solve this dilemma a technical committee has been formed to iron out the issues that are arising and present a technical report. the technical report is expected to indicate which among the four party leaders is best suited to be the flag bearer and  stand a better chance to win against William Ruto and Raila Odinga.

One Kenya Alliance Leaders, They are in a dilemma over who will become the Flag Bearer for their alliance in the August 9th Presidential Election.

The committee comprises leaders who represent their party leaders as follows:

Mudavadi Team:

    1. Kakamega Senator Cleophas Malala.
    2. Nairobi Senator Johnson Sakaja.
    3. Nambale Mp Sakwa Bunyasi.

Kalonzo Team:

  1. Fafi Mp Abdikarim Ousman.
  2. Kitui Senator Enock Wambua.
  3. Makueni Senator Mutula Kilonzo Junior.

Wetangula Team:

  1. Kiminini Mp Chris Wamalwa
  2. Ford Kenya SG Mandu Mandu

Moi Team:

  1. Tiaty Mp William Kamket

The Third Option

According to the organisation of the technical team it seems as if Mudavadi and Kalonzo will form the ticket that will be on the ballot on 9th August 2022.

No Political Alliances from Ruto or Raila OKA Declares

The team has been meeting in Naivasha since Wednesday and their party leaders are expected to join them in a bid to name a flag bearer for the team.

This time the third option in form of OKA will greatly affect the outcome of the general election especially on the presidential front. it is expected that the alliance will take up votes in regions that are considered to either belong to William Ruto or Raila Odinga.



Latest Posts