Free Subscription

Get the news that matters from one of the leading news sites in Kenya.

Biggest Losers in the Principal Secretaries appointment

Post by : Robert Kamau

The Kenya Revenue Authority (KRA) faces a legal dilemma in the wake of President William Ruto’s directive to the taxman to go slow.

The Presidency has announced the nominees for Principal secretaries position. The names will be forwarded to the speaker of the national assembly for vetting. Principal secretaries unlike Cabinet secretaries are vetted by parliamentary committees. PS’s are vetted by their respective committees which mean that  they are questioned on the technical know how of their departments. Principal secretaries are the accounting officers of their specific departments.

Also Read: Accountability as Cabinet secretaries grilling to be televised;Wetangula Confirms

However, Kenyans noticed that the gazetted names missed for of the senior political leaders. Some of the names that missed out of the list include the following:

  1. Former Nominated Senator Isaac Mwaura: Mwaura is a former nominated senator.
  2. Former Nominated MP David Sankok
  3. Boya Molu- Outgoing IEBC Commissioner: Boya was among the two IEBC commissioners who stood with IEBC chairman Wafula Chebukati. During the contested August 2022 general election.
  4. Patrick Amoth – Acting Health Director

  5. Susan Mochache – Incumbent Health PS

  6. Mary Chebukati – IEBC Chaiperson Wafula Chebukati’s wife

  7. Chris Wamalwa – Former MP and Governor contestant Trans Nzoia County

  8. Tabitha Mutemi – IEBC corporate communication manager

  9. Esther Koimett – Incumbent PS Broadcasting and Telecommunications

  10. Mercy Mwangangi – Incumbent Health Chief Administrative Secretary (CAS)

  11. Moses Lenolkulal – Former Samburu Governor

Latest Posts